Towards new collective bargaining, wage and social protection strategies in South Africa - Learning from the Brazilian experience - Neil Coleman
Violet Seboni Memorial Lecture Photo Gallery
COSATU CEC Special Statement
A National Minimum for South Africa by Neil Coleman - COSATU
Lesson for National Womenís Day by SADTU
National Women's Day
SACTWU and COSATU Submission to the Davis Tax Committee
COSATU Submission on the Statement of Issues and Guidelines for Participation in the Competition Commission's Health Inquiry: 30th of June 2014
Condolences book in memory of our beloved Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela
COSATU rolling mass action against eTolls
Like us on Facebook Follow us on twitter
Corruption watch

The Shopsteward Subscribe to get a copy of the Shopsteward The Shopsteward Online Archive

Shopsteward Volume 23 No. 3

COSATU Media Monitor COSATU Media Monitor COSATU Media Monitor


Tel: (011) 339-4911
Fax: (011) 339-5080/339-6940
Email: patrick @ cosatu . org . za

For comments on the website email: donald@cosatu.org.za

COSATU Today  |  COSATU Press Statements

Mass action against labour broking and e-tolling, 7 March 2012

5 March 2012

The Congress of South African trade Unions is receiving overwhelming support for the 7 March general strike against labour brokers, the casualisation of labour, attempts to restrict the right to strike and the imposition of e-tolling. Itís all-systems go for the biggest mass protest in years!

32 marches will be taking place around the country and all your readers, listeners and viewers are very welcome to join in and of course the media are invited to attend and report. Details of marches on 7th March 2012, all starting at 09h00 are:






Western Cape

Cape Town

Gather at Keisersgracht and march to Parliament

Tony Ehrenreich

082 773 3194

Freda Oosthuysen

(COSATU Treasurer)


Gather at Thembalethu 4-Way and march to Department of Labour

Mike Louw

082 339 5442

Andre Kriel

(SACTWU General Secretary)


Gather at Esselen Park and march to Department of Labour

Nadeema Syms

(SATAWU National Treasurer)


Gather at Kobus Lock Transport and march to Department of Labour

Karl Cloete

(NUMSA Deputy GS)

Eastern Cape

East London

Gather at North End Stadium and march to DOL

Mandla Rayi

082 779 2466

Irvin Jim

(NUMSA General Secretary)

Port Elizabeth

Gather at Nangoza Jebe Hall and march to Vuyisile Mini Square

Zingiswa Losi

(COSATU 2nd Deputy President.)


Gather at Mzingisi Skweyiya Hall and march to DOL and Provincial Government Gather at Mzingisi Skweyiya Hall and march to DOL and Provincial Government


Gather at Freedom Square and march to Department of Labour

Nomvula Hadi

(SAMWU President)


Venue to be confirmed

Thembeka Gwagwa (DENOSA General Secretary)


Venue to be confirmed

Thobile Ntola

(SADTU President)


Emalahleni (Witbank)

Gather at Lynville Stadium and march to Department of Labour

Fidel Malombo

082 719 5699

Thamsanqa Piet Matosa

(NUM Deputy President )

Mbombela (Nelspriut)

Gather at Show Grounds and march to Government Complex

Fikile Majola

(NEHAWU General Secretary)


Capricorn (Polokwane)

Gather at SABC Park march to Department of Labour, Shoprite and Banks

Lybro Mavhandu

083 525 1638

Bheki Ntshalintshali

(COSATU Deputy General Secretary)

Mopani (Phalaborwa)

Gather at Taxi Rank and march to Shoprite, PnP, Fosko mines and Banks Macdonald Sibuyi 072 122 3241

Ephraim Mpahlela

(SATAWU President)

Vhembe (Thohoyandou)

Gather at Thulamela municipality and march to Vhembe District, Shoprite, Spar and Banks.

Maboho ML

082 437 7020

Phophi Ramathuba (SAMA)

Sekhukhune (Burgersford)

Gather Tubatse Municipality and march to Shoprite, Spar, Banks and Burgersford Mall.

David Mabilo

076 031 9344

Katishi Masemula

(FAWU General Secretary)

Waterburg (Lephalale)

Gather at Police Training Centre and march to Shoprite, Eskom and offices of Exxaro Mines.

Monti Matome

073 337 1737

Isaac Ramputha


North West


Dr Kenneth Kaunda

Gather at Klerksdorp Medical Centre and march to Department of Labour

Solly Phetoe

082 304 4055

Frans Baleni (NUM General Secretary)


Ngaka Modiri Molema

Gather at Montshiao Stadium and march to Department of Labour offices

Kopano Konopi

082 339 5836

Mthandeki Nhlapo

(SAMWU General Secretary)


Dr. Ruth Mompati

Gather at Huhudi Stadium and march to Naledi municipality

June Dube

(SATAWU Deputy President)



Gather at Bojanala taxi rank and march to municipality

To be confirmed

Northern Cape


Gather at Galeshiwe Open Arena and march to Department of Labour and Premiers Office

Anele Gxoyiya

082 401 6598

Tyotyo James

(COSATU 1st Deputy President)

KwaZulu Natal


Gather at Inkosi King Dinuzulu (Bothaís) Square and march to Durban City Hall

Zet Luzipho

072 884 3456

Sidumo Dlamini

(COSATU President)

Richards Bay

Gather ZCBF and march to Department of Labour

Mandla Mgomezulu

071 068 2003

Cedric Gina

(NUMSA President)


Gather at Corner Allen Street and Hildrop Streets and march to the Trean Park

Bheki Kubeka

072 280 0588

Themba Khumalo

(SACTWU President)


Johannesburg CBD

Gather at Library Gardens and march to Premierís Office, Chamber of Mines, SEISSA and Department of Transport and Roads

Dumisane Dakile

082 727 1422

Zwelinzima Vavi

(COSATU General Secretary)

Free State


Gather at Batho Community Hall and march to Department of Labour Lebohang Building.

Sam Mashinini

082 563 6954

Mzwandile Makwayiba (NEHAWU President)


Gather at Stadium and march to Op die krop, Mentec, OK Scheepers, Oranje Printers and Department of Labour

Dorcas Sekabate

(SADTU Vice President )


Gather at Difemeng TFC, Freedom Square, and march to Maluti a Phofung Municipality and Department of Labour.

Sam Molope

(SAMWU President)


Gather at Zamdela Hall and march to Department of Labour

To be confirmed


Gather at Sasol Garage and march to Chamber of Business, Matjhabeng Municipality and Department of Labour.

To be confirmed


Gather at Old Office and march to local traffic department

To be confirmed

Patrick Craven (National Spokesperson)
Congress of South African Trade Unions
P.O.Box 1019
South Africa

Tel: +27 11 339-4911/24
Fax: +27 11 339-5080 / 6940
Mobile: +27 82 821 7456
E-Mail: patrick@cosatu.org.za